top of page
Search
  • kwak3190

Teach music; the technology will follow

Thanks to Barbara Freedman I have a new mantra: “Teach music; the technology will follow”. The first words of her book (2013) speak directly to me:


No matter what your skill level in technology, you already have the most important skills to teach composition. You are a musician and probably a highly skilled one. Remember, we are music educators, and we teach, first and foremost, music.


During this semester I have been stretched in learning new music technologies (well, new for me, anyway), sometimes beyond my own readiness level. I have completed multiple assignments requiring digital resources and formats, in which I feel I have been assessed for my technological ability (or lack thereof) as much as the content. I have sat in classes playing with various pieces of music software, left to figure it out for myself by pedagogical design, where I have honestly had no idea what I was doing or even what I was meant to be doing. I have been completely overwhelmed at times. Barbara’s words are thus a great comfort to me.


It is not about where I am at now, but my willingness to learn. Barbara tells how she learnt software by taking courses, attending conferences, reading books, asking questions, watching video tutorials and asking students. Technology is referred to as a “tool”, one which “must not hinder the learning or creative process but . . .enhance it”. She recommends learning enough about the technology to “teach and convey a musical concept”, while retaining a focus on teaching music. Thus, the technology component won’t be overwhelming.


When expressed in this way, it feels manageable and achievable. I can build my technological skills and understanding a little at a time, and in the teaching context that it is required. I have all kinds of learning resources at my disposal. Barbara’s book will also be useful: I appreciate the way that she explains concepts clearly and simply without any assumed prior knowledge. I can feel confident in my skills as a musician and music educator, with the assurance that I will develop the necessary technological competency as I continue to put in the effort to learn.


References


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Groove Sophistication

Listening to and learning to play Papa Was a Rolling Stone (The Temptations) as a class was not as easy as it might seem. We had a live version and an online soundtrap version going for the zoomies.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page