top of page
Search
  • kwak3190

Student-teacher relationships and identity

Updated: Nov 14, 2020

Reflections on "Everyone Here is Going to Have Bright Futures", Chapter 3 in Class, Control & Classical Music (Anna Bull, 2019)


I relate well to Anna Bull’s description of how the sense of self is shaped within the teacher-student relationship. In my own experience I studied with a single piano teacher for all of my school years, completing all my piano grades in this time. Progression through AMEB grades was not without a friendly sense of competition. There was often a status of attainment among my school music classmates and friends associated with achieving AMEB levels. In spite of my achievements and the level of proficiency that I reached, I still felt lacking in many ways as a pianist. Whilst I learnt to play a broad array of repertoire, including classical, jazz and popular styles, all of it was notated. I developed excellent sight-reading skills but completely lacked the ability to improvise and had no confidence in my own creativity. I also struggled with aspects of piano technique that were simply not taught to me.


It was not until I started my degree at the Sydney Conservatorium and began lessons with an exceptional Russian teacher, Natalia, that I felt like I really understood how to play the piano. Learning with Natalia was enlightening. She patiently took me back to basic elements of technique – it was like learning how to play the piano all over again. I was eager to learn and listened to her every word. We practised sections of pieces and scales until the desired sound and technique was achieved. During lessons she sang and breathed her way through my playing, guiding the way that I shaped the music. Natalia had high expectations, but she also believed in me. I grew in confidence and ability as a musician. With her help I successfully achieved my Associate Diploma in piano, in spite of many things working against me. I felt a deep bond with Natalia and was thrilled to reconnect with her at the Con several years ago where I was able to introduce her to my oldest daughter.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Teach music; the technology will follow

Thanks to Barbara Freedman I have a new mantra: “Teach music; the technology will follow”. The first words of her book (2013) speak directly to me: No matter what your skill level in technology, you a

Groove Sophistication

Listening to and learning to play Papa Was a Rolling Stone (The Temptations) as a class was not as easy as it might seem. We had a live version and an online soundtrap version going for the zoomies.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page