top of page
Search
  • kwak3190

Who I Be?

Updated: Nov 14, 2020

I grew up in a large family of English heritage with a strong musical culture and high moral values. Whilst not professional musicians or educators, between them my parents had experience in playing piano, singing, choirs, other orchestral instruments, and composition. Growing up, I listened to recorded music that my dad played: everything from The Beatles to English church music, from great symphonic and cinematic music to sacred and choral music. I was encouraged and worked hard to develop my own musical talents. My 5 siblings and I were all required to learn the piano. But I took this seriously and went further than my siblings. Although I intended to study a second instrument this opportunity never eventuated.



We were a white middle-class family, not highly affluent, but not without daily comforts. My parents were frugal and worked hard to provide for our needs. I was aware that my parents sacrificed for us to take private instrumental tuition. At one point there were 4 of us learning the piano at a time, and to keep it financially manageable, only 2 lessons were scheduled each week, so we each attended lessons every other week. Nevertheless, there was still a certain amount of privilege in being able to learn a musical instrument.


My own musical interests led me to study music throughout high school and to pursue it at a tertiary level. As an undergraduate student at the Sydney Conservatorium I majored in musicology and completed secondary studies in piano. I thrived in this environment, as I strengthened and rounded out my musical knowledge and skills. The immersion in the study of Western art music was so extensive that, outside of my studies, I couldn’t take any more ‘classical’ music. I relaxed by listening to popular music and found an outlet in modern jive.


After completing my undergraduate studies at the Conservatorium, my focus shifted from learning music to teaching music. As a piano teacher, I have considered alternative ways of learning pieces in addition to reading traditional notation, such as rote playing and playing by ear. I am working to develop creative skills in my students that were not taught to me such as improvisation, whilst also cultivating a firm technical foundation. I have searched for repertoire that is appealing and meaningful to each individual student. As a Kindermusik educator and choir tutor, I have increased my flexibility in teaching through stylistically diverse vocal and choral repertoire choices and looked beyond singing to integrate other aspects of the performing arts such as movement, drama and musicianship.


Alongside these activities, I have mothered my own 3 children and sought to nurture their musical gifts. With a deep understanding of the value and benefits of music, it was completely natural for me to introduce musical experiences from an early age and provide opportunities for my children to develop their talents through learning to play an instrument. I have essentially continued in the traditions of my family, though I have personally taken on the role of teaching piano to my children. Each of them has also chosen a second instrument to learn with a private teacher, and so we have a violinist, an oboist and a flautist in our family. Teaching my own children piano has been no easy feat, and more recently my youngest daughter (who is incredibly musical) has asserted her independence and determined that she will not play the piano, reasoning that she is different from the rest of us. Thankfully she continues to take flute lessons. By contrast, my oldest daughter has been committed to her musical endeavours and found fulfilment, while my son is the creative one who experiments with songs by ear and enjoys improvising.





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Teach music; the technology will follow

Thanks to Barbara Freedman I have a new mantra: “Teach music; the technology will follow”. The first words of her book (2013) speak directly to me: No matter what your skill level in technology, you a

Groove Sophistication

Listening to and learning to play Papa Was a Rolling Stone (The Temptations) as a class was not as easy as it might seem. We had a live version and an online soundtrap version going for the zoomies.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page